top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendin Hoffman

The Long Way Through

Its always strange, finding what you going to do. Be it you passion, what you suppose to be doing to contribute to community or family, or just doing what you want to do because your good at it. We all know that sometimes the choices you get to decide narrows down very quickly and most of the time, without you even knowing.


And that is where I am, I am wanting to follow my passion. Photography. I've always loved it, it has always driven me and inspired me but as life went on, just like many of you, you had to do what you must to make things happen, to continue professionally. Slowly I have been accumulating the professional knowledge to get a firm footing in photography on the side whilst doing my duty to provide and be secure in my life. Unfortunately I have fallen into the same pit that many hard working individuals have been forced into. The lock-down of the world basically has choked off the supply that many businesses and industries needed to survive, making them close slowly, one by one like a drought in summer time fields.





So that slow secure footing with the transition from a secure position I was hoping for has turned into a shove and a fall, and a list of choices. A, Stand firm and take a swing at this photography game in one of the worst moments in economical history in the past 10 years, B, initiate a back up plan and go work on a farm in one of the most beautiful places in my country, C, go assist with my family business and be a chicken broiler and layer.


Obviously two sound more hands on, which is appealing, and much more comfortable. Steady salary, Engaging work, beautiful and familiar environment and even get to be with my family with one of them. But the thought lingers in the back of my head, that anything great or things worth while having was not made easy. So why not take a swing at this, facing insurmountable odds at time that does not accommodate this sort of business and when the industries that support us are the ones that are buckling at the knees. Well when they said you have to step out of your comfort zone, they were not joking were they?


So what is this about, me explaining the kinds of struggles one would encounter at the beginning of their journey to their passion? Giving the ones small side of how it is to start later in life, down the path they really wanted to go? Probably a bit of both. But that you are not alone in the journey you want to take, and that it will probably be hard, but at least you doing it and not asking the "what if" later on.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page